PCNet Online.com. Download software, read reviews, get tips and support.  
Home   Articles   Forum   Reviews   Downloads   About/Contact
PCNet Forum Home PCNet Forum Home -> Internet/networking -> LAN and local network
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: WiFi Protected Setup
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

WiFi Protected Setup

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Randy View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 22 Mar 2008
Location: USA, Georgia
Posts: 15935
  Quote Randy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: WiFi Protected Setup
    Posted: 12 Jan 2012 at 9:16am
A good reason to research what router to buy:

http://lifehacker.com/5873407/how-to-crack-a-wi+fi-networks-wpa-password-with-reaver

And, also a good reason to finally try out DD-WRT. 

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wi-Fi_Protected_Setup
Back to Top
Don Watkins View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar
Admin

Joined: 14 Mar 2008
Posts: 26881
  Quote Don Watkins Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jan 2012 at 9:23am

Wow, good to know.

My security is that my router/access point only has a range of about 10 feet....

Back to Top
Randy View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 22 Mar 2008
Location: USA, Georgia
Posts: 15935
  Quote Randy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jan 2012 at 9:34am
LOL!  That's what has me curious about trying DD-WRT to increase the range and also to monitor our usage.
Back to Top
Don Watkins View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar
Admin

Joined: 14 Mar 2008
Posts: 26881
  Quote Don Watkins Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jan 2012 at 9:38am

I am now totally locked out of the cable company supplied router. Time was I could get in but no longer.

It's miserable and I can supply my own but it takes up to 24 hours for it to be recognized by their network even if I clone the Mac address. Bah.

Back to Top
Randy View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 22 Mar 2008
Location: USA, Georgia
Posts: 15935
  Quote Randy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jan 2012 at 10:46am
Now that is very annoying.  Do they make you use theirs or can you use your own modem and router?
Back to Top
Don Watkins View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar
Admin

Joined: 14 Mar 2008
Posts: 26881
  Quote Don Watkins Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jan 2012 at 10:48am
You can use your own, it just may take up to 24 hours for it to be recognized. Or so they say. I only gave it about 2 hours and then again overnight and it wasn't long enough.
Back to Top
Randy View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 22 Mar 2008
Location: USA, Georgia
Posts: 15935
  Quote Randy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jan 2012 at 11:10am
Maybe you could plug in one to use as an access point?
Back to Top
Don Watkins View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar
Admin

Joined: 14 Mar 2008
Posts: 26881
  Quote Don Watkins Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jan 2012 at 11:12am
I've thought about that and I'll probably go digging in the attic as I think I have one _somewhere_ up there. Easy enough to hook it up at the far end of the house for coverage there.
Back to Top
Randy View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 22 Mar 2008
Location: USA, Georgia
Posts: 15935
  Quote Randy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jan 2012 at 11:29am
Hearing about DD-WRT being able to increase the range of your router it's time for me to pick a day when the house is empty and just do it.  Gotta do a bit of prep work first.
Back to Top
Karl_db View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 12 Mar 2008
Posts: 34652
  Quote Karl_db Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jan 2012 at 2:24pm
Wow...that sounds like one heck of an IP you have Don. Goodness.  That 24 hours...is that for the initial setup....or every time you'd have to restart the router for some reason?
Don't worry about avoiding temptation. As you grow older, it will avoid you.
Back to Top
Don Watkins View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar
Admin

Joined: 14 Mar 2008
Posts: 26881
  Quote Don Watkins Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jan 2012 at 4:11pm
I've only reset it once but it came back online immediately.
Back to Top
Karl_db View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 12 Mar 2008
Posts: 34652
  Quote Karl_db Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jan 2012 at 5:50pm
That just blows my mind....24 hours to get detected. Uh...is that a gubermint IP? LOL
Don't worry about avoiding temptation. As you grow older, it will avoid you.
Back to Top
Don Watkins View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar
Admin

Joined: 14 Mar 2008
Posts: 26881
  Quote Don Watkins Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jan 2012 at 5:54pm
They say it has something to do with their fiber network. Dunno, sounds fishy to me but that's their claim.
Back to Top
Randy View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 22 Mar 2008
Location: USA, Georgia
Posts: 15935
  Quote Randy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jan 2012 at 10:31pm
Can't buy it.  A friend has fiber here and they have no such restrictions.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.56a
Copyright ©2001-2009 Web Wiz

This page was generated in 0.031 seconds.