PCNet Online.com. Download software, read reviews, get tips and support.  
Home   Articles   Forum   Reviews   Downloads   About/Contact
PCNet Forum Home PCNet Forum Home -> Internet/networking -> WWW
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: CenturyLink..dead horse too?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

CenturyLink..dead horse too?

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 23456 14>
Author
Message
Don Watkins View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar
Admin

Joined: 14 Mar 2008
Posts: 26950
  Quote Don Watkins Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: CenturyLink..dead horse too?
    Posted: 19 Dec 2011 at 3:34pm
How about a tracert to a site that's slow?
Back to Top
Karl_db View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 12 Mar 2008
Posts: 34728
  Quote Karl_db Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Dec 2011 at 4:14pm
I'll wait a while...till later...as it gets slower. (Watch it not tonight. LOL)

Then I think I'll shut it down, connect direct (wired) to the modem to the laptop and see how it compares.
Back to Top
Karl_db View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 12 Mar 2008
Posts: 34728
  Quote Karl_db Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Dec 2011 at 5:27pm
This is what gets me and messes with my mind like a goldfish in a blender:  I'm a "feel" type of guy. I don't check speeds as long as everything "feels" good (fast). It's only when it starts stuttering in the evening.

And...(the blender part)...the web sites don't "feel" unusually slow. Even youtube. It's only after clicking on a video and they start stuttering, stopping, re-buffering...plays for 5-10 seconds then pauses for a half-minute.  Drives me nuts. (Or a download like that MS update.) Doesn't seem to matter what web site or what type. Just like something is putting an anchor out.
Back to Top
Karl_db View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 12 Mar 2008
Posts: 34728
  Quote Karl_db Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Dec 2011 at 6:02pm
How does this play for ya?
http://townhall.com/video/cavuto-attacks-occupier-over-port-shutdown-

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Me>tracert townhall.com

Tracing route to townhall.com [74.84.198.240]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1     1 ms     1 ms     1 ms  192.168.3.1
  2     1 ms     1 ms     1 ms  192.168.2.1
  3    66 ms    68 ms    69 ms  in-67-236-64-1.dhcp.embarqhsd.net [67.236.64.1]

  4    76 ms    74 ms    74 ms  67.237.47.213
  5    85 ms    85 ms    83 ms  208-110-248-225.lightcore.net [208.110.248.225]

  6    86 ms    81 ms    79 ms  cer-edge-17.inet.qwest.net [65.113.255.241]
  7    84 ms    84 ms    91 ms  chp-brdr-03.inet.qwest.net [67.14.8.194]
  8    80 ms    74 ms    85 ms  63.146.27.18
  9    93 ms    83 ms    82 ms  vlan52.ebr2.Chicago2.Level3.net [4.69.138.190]
 10     *      123 ms   126 ms  ae-6-6.ebr2.Washington12.Level3.net [4.69.148.14
5]
 11   125 ms   125 ms   118 ms  ae-1-100.ebr1.Washington12.Level3.net [4.69.143.
213]
 12   113 ms   117 ms   117 ms  ae-8-8.ebr1.Washington1.Level3.net [4.69.143.217
]
 13   293 ms   198 ms   200 ms  ae-7-7.car2.Richmond1.Level3.net [4.69.142.249]

 14   185 ms   109 ms   195 ms  PEAK-10.car2.Richmond1.Level3.net [4.26.66.6]
 15   238 ms   204 ms   111 ms  v13.rd1.ric.peak10.net [74.84.192.25]
 16   131 ms   103 ms   104 ms  198-240.baymountain.com [74.84.198.240]

Trace complete.





Back to Top
Karl_db View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 12 Mar 2008
Posts: 34728
  Quote Karl_db Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Dec 2011 at 6:05pm
BTW: Constant buffering. Maybe play just a few seconds at a time.  I'm getting ready to shutdown and connect direct wired (no router) just to test a rather massive download I'd started.
Back to Top
Don Watkins View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar
Admin

Joined: 14 Mar 2008
Posts: 26950
  Quote Don Watkins Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Dec 2011 at 6:24pm
It's audio only, right? I'll have to check tomorrow when I'm back at the desktop but off the top it looks like they have a problem with their peering partner, those hops once you leave Chicago look kinda weak. I can find the link tomorrow but dslreports.com has an excellent tracert test (can't recall the exact name) that should help as well as it can easily identify bad hops.
Back to Top
Karl_db View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 12 Mar 2008
Posts: 34728
  Quote Karl_db Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Dec 2011 at 6:25pm
OK. Back online. I've rebooted the modem and the computer. Wireless is shut off and I'm connected, wired, directly to the modem.

Doesn't do squat to improve the video. Plays a few seconds, buffers, over and over.

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Me>tracert townhall.com

Tracing route to townhall.com [74.84.198.240]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.2.1
  2    68 ms    70 ms    70 ms  in-67-236-64-1.dhcp.embarqhsd.net [67.236.64.1]

  3    65 ms    66 ms    66 ms  67.237.47.213
  4    78 ms    76 ms   112 ms  208-110-248-225.lightcore.net [208.110.248.225]

  5   131 ms    84 ms   113 ms  cer-edge-17.inet.qwest.net [65.113.255.241]
  6    85 ms    83 ms    84 ms  chp-brdr-03.inet.qwest.net [67.14.8.194]
  7    85 ms    84 ms    85 ms  63.146.27.18
  8     *       81 ms    84 ms  vlan52.ebr2.Chicago2.Level3.net [4.69.138.190]
  9   134 ms   137 ms   132 ms  ae-6-6.ebr2.Washington12.Level3.net [4.69.148.14
5]
 10   128 ms   129 ms   130 ms  ae-1-100.ebr1.Washington12.Level3.net [4.69.143.
213]
 11   131 ms   135 ms   138 ms  ae-8-8.ebr1.Washington1.Level3.net [4.69.143.217
]
 12   105 ms     *      103 ms  ae-7-7.car2.Richmond1.Level3.net [4.69.142.249]

 13   108 ms   103 ms   103 ms  PEAK-10.car2.Richmond1.Level3.net [4.26.66.6]
 14   105 ms   130 ms   106 ms  v13.rd1.ric.peak10.net [74.84.192.25]
 15   107 ms   104 ms   105 ms  198-240.baymountain.com [74.84.198.240]

Trace complete.

Time to try that massive download and see what happens.


Back to Top
Karl_db View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 12 Mar 2008
Posts: 34728
  Quote Karl_db Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Dec 2011 at 6:35pm
As far as the download...it was one from Tech Republic. Over 300 MB...long enough for me to monitor download speed. I only let it download for maybe five or so minutes. Long enough to see that download speed bounces around between 80 and 140 Kb/s. Usually around 120 someplace. Wired or wireless. Doesn't make any stinking difference that I'm connected directly to the modem now. (Trying to confirm or eliminate the router effect.)

Tech Republic Backup Trial
Back to Top
Karl_db View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 12 Mar 2008
Posts: 34728
  Quote Karl_db Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Dec 2011 at 6:35pm
Used to I kinda liked troubleshooting things. Now I just would appreciate it if it would work!!
Back to Top
Don Watkins View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar
Admin

Joined: 14 Mar 2008
Posts: 26950
  Quote Don Watkins Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Dec 2011 at 6:38pm
I'm 99% sure it's not on your end, it starts bogging down after Chicago.
Back to Top
Karl_db View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 12 Mar 2008
Posts: 34728
  Quote Karl_db Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Dec 2011 at 6:41pm
Just for the heck of it...I tried IE instead of FF. Actually....IE is a little slower...never gets above 100 Kb/s.

I can't tracert the actual download...it's a third party site. Maybe I could tracert...but I'm not smart enough to figure out how to enter their url:

http://usdownloads.quest.com.edgesuite.net/Repository/www.quest.com/latest_versions/Quest_vRangerBackupReplication_52122438.exe


Back to Top
Karl_db View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 12 Mar 2008
Posts: 34728
  Quote Karl_db Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Dec 2011 at 7:16pm
Thanks. Just saw your post. I'm hyper.  I'm pretty sure it's not me either. Just burns me. I tested at speedtest.centurylink.net

Actually....I tested every location. Ping varied but download and upload speeds...sheesh! Downloads between 2.8 and 3.2 MB.  Upload speed from 444 to 610 Kbps. Life is good!! (Actually, in my paranoia I'm half-suspicious their speed test is rigged.)

Now this is interesting:


(Pingtest.net is part of speedtest.net. According to various tests, my "jitter" is usually a "C".
http://pingtest.net/learn.php




Back to Top
Karl_db View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 12 Mar 2008
Posts: 34728
  Quote Karl_db Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Dec 2011 at 7:17pm
Oh....I didn't realize that would post a pic here. I thought it was a link to their web site.
Back to Top
Don Watkins View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar
Admin

Joined: 14 Mar 2008
Posts: 26950
  Quote Don Watkins Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Dec 2011 at 7:24pm
I just remembered that the name of the test at dlsreports is their latency test. It's gonna get you further than Chicago and it's gonna be worse than a c as it's after Chicago things get funky.
Back to Top
Karl_db View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 12 Mar 2008
Posts: 34728
  Quote Karl_db Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Dec 2011 at 7:48pm
And DSL reports gives me about 800 Kbps down from Chicago. Sigh.

BUT...I clicked on a link on their page for External Speedtest Sites.

I tried one located here in Indiana. http://sd-pc.indiana.gigapop.net:7123/tcpbw100.html
You might find that an informative page. Lots more than just down/up and speeddials.

Hmm. I can't seem to copy the stats. Lots of info if you click on "statistics" and "more details" buttons.

Here's part of the report. I had to type it since "copy" isn't working. Some of it may be in shorthand: ROFL

The theoretical network limit is 0.57 Mbps.
The NDT server has a 16384.0 KByte buffer which limits the throughput to 1977.12 Mbps.
Your PC/Workstation has a 63.0 KByte buffer which limits the throughput to 3.82 Mbps.
The Network based flow control limits the throughput to 1.95 Mbps.

Download: 579 kb/s
upload: 552 kb/s

Information: Other network traffic is congesting the link
Information(S2C): Packet queuing detected.



Back to Top
Don Watkins View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar
Admin

Joined: 14 Mar 2008
Posts: 26950
  Quote Don Watkins Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Dec 2011 at 8:03pm
I think "other network traffic" is the operative phrase. Their peering is funky.
Back to Top
Karl_db View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 12 Mar 2008
Posts: 34728
  Quote Karl_db Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Dec 2011 at 8:19pm
I wish I could copy the results from
http://sd-pc.indiana.gigapop.net:7123/tcpbw100.html

More info than I can handle. I tried the test with IE. LOL  Whatever Linux they use sees right past the public address that Centurylink puts out. (Although all it seems to detect is the address of my modem.)

Anyhow...yep...I'm thinking that the technician I chatted with on the telephone is right: their wiring and hardware needs lots and lots of work. 

I got so flustered tonight I durn near threw my laptop through the window. Not on purpose. Wink I stood up and started to walk away with the laptop in my hand. I forgot I was connected directly to the modem by wire. Oops. My almost bad. (I caught it. Whew!)
Back to Top
Karl_db View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 12 Mar 2008
Posts: 34728
  Quote Karl_db Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Dec 2011 at 8:20pm
FWIW:
I think this site tells quite a bit also about ping:
http://pingtest.net/learn.php
Back to Top
Karl_db View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 12 Mar 2008
Posts: 34728
  Quote Karl_db Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Dec 2011 at 10:06pm
Wow. Super headache. I browsed Comcast. Single options. Double plays. Triple plays. They remind me of the Dell site.  Would you like to add the Howard Stern channel ($10.95 a month) or the Jewish Channel, or the (xxxxxxx channel). I bet you could add several hundred of dollars per month in "options". Just wow. (Lucky for me the dog wanted to go out and decided he was going to go for his nighttime walk...with or without me. We both went. He had more common sense than I.)
Back to Top
Karl_db View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 12 Mar 2008
Posts: 34728
  Quote Karl_db Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Dec 2011 at 10:27pm
Effective Jan 2012:
Customers purchasing service at speeds of 1.5Mbps and below, have a usage limit of 150 Gigabytes (GB) of download volume per month.
Customers purchasing service at speeds greater than 1.5Mbps, have a limit of 250GB in download volume per month.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 23456 14>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.56a
Copyright ©2001-2009 Web Wiz

This page was generated in 0.030 seconds.