PCNet Online.com. Download software, read reviews, get tips and support.  
Home   Articles   Forum   Reviews   Downloads   About/Contact
PCNet Forum Home PCNet Forum Home -> Operating Systems -> Windows Vista
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Reinstalling Vista on my Acer laptop
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Reinstalling Vista on my Acer laptop

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123
Author
Message
Don Watkins View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar
Admin

Joined: 14 Mar 2008
Posts: 26887
  Quote Don Watkins Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Reinstalling Vista on my Acer laptop
    Posted: 29 Nov 2009 at 12:02pm

Could be indexing service.

1. Click on the Start Button and enter Indexing Options. Hit Enter and Indexing Options should load.

2. Click on Modify, followed by Show all locations.

3. Scroll through the tree and uncheck all options except the Start Menu.

Back to Top
Karl_db View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 12 Mar 2008
Posts: 34658
  Quote Karl_db Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Nov 2009 at 12:03pm
Don't worry about avoiding temptation. As you grow older, it will avoid you.
Back to Top
anony View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 27 Mar 2008
Posts: 100
  Quote anony Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Nov 2009 at 12:32pm
Indexing is not running so it says.
 
I was thinking about the XP 256 ram box I was setting up the other day and at the Windows Update site, under preferences it was set to include all MS programs. That box would run and run and run and flash and flash until I gave up andf cancelled it. Turned off all MS updates and it updated lickety split. I wonder if that what was happening here. Since turning off task scheduler and updating it doesn't flash anymore.  
Back to Top
Don Watkins View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar
Admin

Joined: 14 Mar 2008
Posts: 26887
  Quote Don Watkins Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Nov 2009 at 12:36pm
Good idea but gosh, that shouldn't have been running in safe mode. Given that it was it's got to be a core service that runs in both modes.
Back to Top
anony View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 27 Mar 2008
Posts: 100
  Quote anony Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Nov 2009 at 12:57pm
As I write this on my netbook, Vista laptop task says Isass is is 0%cpu but doing a bunch of r/w i/os.
 
Things have quited down now and the hd has stopped flashing.
 
 Now Isass is r/w but the hd is not flashing.
 
Folders open fully now with no pause.
Back to Top
anony View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 27 Mar 2008
Posts: 100
  Quote anony Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Nov 2009 at 1:07pm

Shaved 5 secs off boot time.

Here's what event log has to say,

Error:

Log Name:      Microsoft-Windows-Diagnostics-Performance/Operational
Source:        Microsoft-Windows-Diagnostics-Performance
Date:          11/:29/2009 1:44:07 PM
Event ID:      100
Task Category: Boot Performance Monitoring
Level:         Error
Keywords:      Event Log
User:          LOCAL SERVICE


Warning:

Log Name:      Microsoft-Windows-Diagnostics-Performance/Operational
Source:        Microsoft-Windows-Diagnostics-Performance
Date:          11/29/2009 1:44:06 PM
Event ID:      200
Task Category: Shutdown Performance Monitoring
Level:         Warning
Keywords:      Event Log
User:          LOCAL SERVICE

Back to Top
jim1987 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 12 May 2011
Location: Mexico, USA
Posts: 0
  Quote jim1987 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 May 2011 at 2:40am
My friend its a same process.there is no major difference in between installing any operating systems of Microsoft.I dnt think that you will face any kind of major difficulties to install vista.
Back to Top
charlesbrown678 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 Feb 2012
Posts: 0
  Quote charlesbrown678 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Feb 2012 at 4:39am
Originally posted by jim1987

My friend its a same process.there is no major difference in between installing any operating systems of Microsoft.I dnt think that you will face any kind of major difficulties to install vista.

I agree with you. There are no major differences in installing vista or other operating system to the computer. If one have installed windows once in a life he can easily install vista as well.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.56a
Copyright ©2001-2009 Web Wiz

This page was generated in 0.031 seconds.